1 year island-versary

It’s been a while since I made a blog post and posted it, I’ve written a few but never got IMG_2125around to posting them. But in the mean time, I have completed my first two semesters of vet school, got FAMACHA certified, and have reached my one year mark on the island!

I haven’t been up to much other than studying and taking care of doggies. Last November I adopted an old Island dog named Rusty aka Rust Bucket Of Love. I recently brought him home for my dad this past break, and so far he is settling in well. He doesn’t mind the cold at all which is saying a lot since it was 30 degrees cooler in Canada compared to here in St. Kitts. I miss him so much, but he has an amazing home and has lots of room to explore!
Here are some photos of him on his adventures:

I’ve also been fostering another dog, this one for my friend until she can move into a pet-friendly apartment in September. Her name is Lady, and she is the sweetest girl ever, she is very timid but has come out of her shell a lot since she first moved in.

As always I am counting down the days till I can adopt Chloe and Leila, I love them so much and would do anything for them. As usual, I can’t post photos of them, but I have been spending every day I can visiting them and training them so that they can be fantastic kennel dogs. And also so they will be prepared for life after their job at the kennels, which finishes at the end of this year. It is getting so close; I can’t wait!!! It has officially been a year since I met them, and it has flown by. Leila used to be extremely shy and terrified of everything that moved. Now she is a VERY energetic, smart, and a brave girl who has come leaps and bounds since she came to the kennel. Chloe, although not as timid as Leila, has also come so far in her training, and trusting other people and situations. They are each others safety blanket and are best friends. They remind me so much of my old dog Lexi, and just like Lexi, they chose me to be their person from the second I met them. Now I just to get approved to adopt them in the fall!

Entering my third semester, I will have a bit more free time to go on adventures on the island and go to the beach more often! Seeing as I have not been to the beach in about four months or so, this will be a nice change. So expect many more photos and blog posts in the coming weeks and months.

This semester I am taking Pharmacology, Pathology, Virology, and Bacteriology. And only three days into the semester, this morning I completed my pathology necropsy lab with a great group of people! It was a lot of fun, and I learned a lot. I am excited about the classes this semester, and after surviving second semester, which was by far the hardest semester I’ve completed to date, I cannot wait to learn more about veterinary medicine! As many of you know, this is what I have wanted to do my entire life, and I am counting down the days until I am a practicing vet (hopefully) back home in New Liskeard.

That’s all for now!

-Bethany

Leave a Reply

