“Its going to be a bumpy ride”

Where has the time gone? I am over half done my first official semester of vet school! A lot has happened in the last couple months.
I was really lonely in my apartment all alone, so I decided to foster a cat named Irie. I am so in love with this little man; he reminds me of Romeo, a cat I had when I was in Guelph. Irie is such a loving cat, I will be one sad lady when he finds his forever home. Shortly after this, I took in another foster named Bumper. An itty bitty kitten with whom both Irie and myself fell in love with. About a week or two after taking Bumper in he got sick really fast and unfortunately he did not make it. I will be perfectly honest, I was pretty devastated, I felt like I didn’t do my job, and I should have somehow bright him to the vet sooner. I’m still not 100% sure what happened; he is now part of a research project which will hopefully find some answers as to what happened. Since Bumper has been gone Irie has been over the top in his cuddles and playfulness, he is bored without his little mini-me.

On a brighter note, one of my best friends found me the perfect car! Meet Krypton my little blue Superman. It only took about ten cars for me to find the one. The only downside was that I had to re-learn how to drive manual. But that only took a couple of hours of driving around with friends. Thankfully I had previously been taught a year ago. I won’t say I’m perfect, but I can easily get around and only freak out about 20% of the time. Driving in Saint Kitts can be nerve wracking. There aren’t really enforced traffic laws. We drive on the left side of the road here, and locals drive insanely fast, and there are no stop lights, only roundabouts. Sometimes their methods of stopping people to check for their vehicle registration is a bit insane. But if there is one thing I have learned while living on this little island, it’s to take everything in stride and go with the flow. Thankfully this comes naturally to me. I do think that I need a sticker for my car that says “it’s going to be a bumpy ride” or a shrunken head from Harry Potter. I say this pretty much everytime someone gets in my car. The road by school is so rough it feels like my car is going to fall apart.

Processed with VSCO with s3 presetimg_2559

Although October and November mark one year anniversaries for a few sad events which have been weighing on me heavily over the last month. A visit from one of my best friends from home greatly brightened up my mood and took my mind of things! It was by far the best birthday present I could have asked for.

img_3904

I have a ton of photos from her visit as we went on many adventures. I’ve done a lot of exploring with my island friends, but I’ve never had my own car to go out on my own whenever I wanted. I will post another blog post shortly with more photos.

img_2476

And just FYI bordering on TMI I discovered a level of sweat where somehow your eyelid sticks together making it super hard to smile in photos, giving you this weird one-eyed squinty look. Its super attractive, you should try it! Haha

Have a great weekend!

-Bethy

Leave a Reply

