Uncategorized

Home Stretch

I’m not sure how, but somehow tomorrow is the beginning of August. Time has flown by in the last three months. I am now in the home stretch, with my last block exam ever in 2 weeks!

IMG_5524
Carambola beach club

I’ve been bored out of my mind lately, and feeling quite lonely for many reasons, and as many of my friends and family can attest to, I’ve been calling home a lot recently. That being said I have completed a set of exams, and miraculously and by some act of God managed to do really well on all of them. I’m still not sure how that happened, but I’m not complaining. I also spent a few days at the beach, reading, and sleeping. I have a nice tan (and tan lines) to prove it! For some reason running on the beach was relaxing for me, and allowed me to clear my head. So, of course, I went for five runs in a three-day period. A week later and I am regretting it, my ankles are killing me. My broken ankle from 10 years ago has never completely recovered, but hopefully, running will do it some good.

On a more exciting note, to me at least, I finally had the opportunity to try out some snorkel gear with my friend and thankfully it all worked great. In the process of trying it out, we saw a Stingray! Which being from Northern Ontario I’ve never seen before except in an aquarium. This made my month or at least my week! I’m very easy to please! Sadly we forgot the go-pro, so I don’t have pictures, but it will go down as one of those special moments that only we will remember, which in this day and age of photographing everything, I think it is important to have these moments.

The only thing to happen that may trump the Stingray sighting was my adventure at the racetrack yesterday.

IMG_5605
View of the track and Atlantic ocean

This past week the Integrative Veterinary Medicine Club on campus brought down an Equine Chiropractor from California by the name of Dr. Moore. He spent three lunchtime lectures talking about the business and how many opportunities there are for new veterinarians. While these were informative and fun, they were nothing compared to the hands-on clinic that was held at the Beaumont Racetrack here on Saint Kitts. This track is closed, but there are about 12 retired racehorses that are kept and exercised there. There were around 40 students that attended, and we split up into groups of 4. Dr. Moore demonstrated to the entire group his process of evaluating and adjusting a horse and talked his way through the entire process explaining what he was doing and why he was doing it. For each horse, one group of 4 got the opportunity to feel various movements before during and after adjustment; while the rest of the students watched and listened.

IMG_5622
Buildings at the track

As you can imagine, every horse was different, so having the opportunity to watch every horse be adjusted was very interesting. Dr. Moore was an excellent teacher, and I can honestly say he held all our attentions for a good 6 hours straight, which is no small feat. I wish he taught all my classes, as he makes things interesting and explains things very well.

IMG_5621
View at the track

Being a long time believer and user of chiropractic for myself as well as my animals, I knew you could see a drastic change even after one adjustment. However, seeing it over and over again in one day was mind blowing all over again and made me that much more excited to one day be doing this to my patients!

In the meantime, I am counting down the days till I am back in Canada and get to see everyone again! I’m not sure what I will do first because there are so many things I miss. I think half are food related though….I’m still not sure how I’m not 300 lbs.

IMG_5578
Carambola beach club

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

