Orange Current Scones

Every Friday night and Saturday morning I find myself missing home a little bit more than usual. Mainly because a year ago I would have been preparing for the Riverside Farmers Market. Even though baking into the wee hours of the morning only to get a couple of hours of sleep and keep baking till market started at 8:00 was exhausting, it was also very rewarding. I loved being able to provide allergy-friendly baking to our little community, and talking to my customers every Saturday morning was something I looked forward too. Now that I am several thousand miles away and not able to bake (I don’t even have a real oven for a couple more months), I’ve been going a little crazy. In the meantime, I thought it would be nice to share some of my favourite allergy friendly recipes with those of you who have a need for them. I will post a new recipe from my collection every so often, along with my sources; I hope you try baking them yourself or a friend! Most of the time substitutes can or have been made to the original recipes to make them work for my customers or me.

Please note that I find recipes from all over the place just like anyone else would. But every so often I come across a gem, and these are usually the ones I use over and over again. One of these gems was Sweet Cravings, a book I stumbled upon on Amazon by Kyra Bussanich. Kyra is a past winner of cupcake wars where she strictly baked gluten free. Her book is amazing! I have yet to try all of the recipes, but the ones I have tried and sometimes have tweaked to my liking and allergy needs, have been to die for!

This is where I found a very popular and amazing scone recipe that is easily tweaked to your liking.

11257918_757107807744726_8423076662024051386_n
The only photo I could find of them.

Orange current scones

(Originally from Sweet Cravings by Kyra Bussanich)

  • Ingredients:
    170 g (1 cup) sweet white rice flour
    147 g (1 cup) millet flour
    190 g  (1 cup) potato starch
    130 g (1 cup) tapioca starch
    151 g (2/3 cup) sugar *
    3 g (1 TBSP) xanthan gum
    14 g (1 TBSP) baking powder **
    4.7 g (1 tsp) salt (optional) ***
    2.4 g (1/2 tsp) baking soda
    2 TBSP orange zest (about 2 medium-large oranges)
    110 g (3/4 cup) dried currants or another dried fruit of choice
    170 g (3/4 cup) cold regular or dairy-free butter chopped into cubes
    1/4 cup orange juice (for stronger flavour use concentrate) or another juice of choice.
    1 cup regular heavy cream or for dairy-free use 1 can full-fat coconut cream
  • Glaze:
    4 cups icing sugar
    1/2 cup orange juice

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 300F. Mix all dry ingredients together in large bowl preferably one with high sides or you will have a mess! Using fingers or a pastry blender combine the butter into dry ingredients. Add orange juice and cream and mix until combined thoroughly. Your dough should now be able to be squeezed together without being wet, and there should be no loose dry ingredients.

Divide into 3 equally sized balls and arrange on baking sheet covered in parchment paper. Using a rolling pin, roll each ball flat until it is about 1/2 inch high. Bake for around 30-35 minutes, until there is little resistance when edges are squeezed. Edges should not be squishy. Remove from oven and cut into equally sized wedges. A pizza cutter works well for this. Let cool.

Once cool, slather with delicious glaze and enjoy!

*Weight is based on white sugar, I have used organic raw sugar, and coconut sugar all having different weights. Use your judgment.

** Weight based on the store bought baking powder. I made my own corn-free baking powder which had a different weight.

***I never use salt, but I use salted butter or butter substitute.

My mouth is watering just thinking of these scones, they were a favourite among gluten free and non-gluten free customers. So don’t be afraid to offer some to all your friends. Or hide them and keep them all for yourself, I won’t judge you!

If you have any questions about this recipe or other gluten free baking, feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer or point you in the right direction.

 

-Bethany

5 Replies to “Orange Current Scones”

  1. Thanks Bethany for sharing this Scone recipe. I’m baking these today. I look forward to your other Gluten-Free recipes. PS My daughter Emilie as well as my son Mat and his family are currently in St-Kitts. Maybe you’ll run into them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

