6 Days Till Departure

It’s Monday morning, and I am sitting at McDonald’s in my usual seat drinking coffee and thinking of everything I still have to do before I leave. I’ve already done barn chores, gave the animals their medications, and been to the vet clinic. I’ve stocked up on my cat’s urinary food and picked up Lutalyse. Our stallion got out again, and we don’t want any more foals around, so I picked up the Lutalyse to needle all our mares before I leave.

In the past week, I have gotten a lot done. I finally sent my Visa papers back to Ross, and I’ve figured out how much luggage I can take on what plane and how much it will cost me. I’ve picked up most of the things I need to bring with me and made a decent dent in packing up the rest of my things at my parents. However, I am still trying to get the schools insurance waved so I can use my own and save about $700!

IMG_4215
Packing up all my possessions 😦

On Saturday, my family got together for the first time in a long time to catch up before I leave, have cake and celebrate birthdays that I will miss while I am away. It was a lot of fun, and my aunt made gluten-free pineapple upside down cake that was to die for!

My last week home seems to be rapidly disappearing. I am starting to get excited about leaving but at the same time, I’m freaking out inside, and it hasn’t fully sunk in that I am leaving to go somewhere I’ve never been. I’m not good at goodbyes; I hate them, and today marks six months since my month from hell started. Where I lost (to varying degrees) three of my best friends. If I were to look it up, I am probably suffering from PTSD. But I’m trying hard not to think about this and get excited about the months to come. Being away will do me some good, it helps to have something else to occupy my thoughts!

On a more exciting note, for me at least, my stethoscope came! I am way to excited about this, my coveralls and lab coat came as well so I am all set and can get on with my packing.

Processed with VSCO with k2 preset
Love at first site

In the meantime, I’m looking forward to the cool spring air and taking my horses for some more rides before I leave them for the summer!

Processed with VSCO with c3 preset
Ride with a view
Leave a Reply

